The Farm

Feb. 21, 2010 ~ Answered prayers

Good news and bad news. The good news is that they believe they have caught the serial arsonists who have been burning churches in East Texas these past couple of months. Assuming that these young men are indeed the ones who did this, it is a huge relief that they are behind bars. With bond set at 10 million dollars each, they are unlikely to get out anytime soon. The bad news is that these men (ages 19 and 21, I believe) have families and friends who are no doubt hurting.

As someone who works in a church, we have been on edge, to put it mildly. Members of the local fire department recently toured our premises, so they would know their way around. In a fire. A good idea, always, but kind of creepy, under the circumstances. Police and even sheriff's department personnel have been around more often than usual. It made one of our staff members pretty nervous, fearful, really. It made it seem too real.

We bought external hard drives to back up our computers and I have faithfully backed up files daily, and carried my hard drive home with me. We have taken other backup measures, too. I even debated bringing our actual historical records and books home with me, but in the end decided against it. I still plan to do the backups, and still plan to bring the hard drive home, at least for awhile, maybe forever.

___________________________________________________

It is 63 degrees and sunny, a simply beautiful day. Contrast that to last week's snow, and I know for sure I'm in Texas! The sunshine helps brighten my mood, which needed a lift.

I think I'll go out and pick a few daffodils, and bring a little sunshine indoors.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter