The Farm

Sept. 05, 2007 ~ Sick horse

We have a very sick horse. He steadfastly refuses to enter a trailer, so he can't go to the vet's. If we were better horse parents we would have figured out a way to accustom him to trailering, but we aren't, and he isn't, and there's not much we can do about it now. The vet lives nearby and he came over last night. He expected Bucky to be much better this morning, but Husband tells me he's about the same. It's still dark out, but I expect I'll go visit the horses soon.

They've had all their shots, for what that's worth. At this point I'd say it's not worth much, because he is one sick pony boy. Rapid, labored breathing. Dehydrated. Not drinking much. And that old expression... you can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink? True. You can't. Shoot.

He'd been coughing just occasionally for a couple of days, and Husband thought it was because of the dusty hay. The animals all do it. You'll hear a little cough here and there, and think nothing of it. Last night, Husband and I both got in late from work. I'd already gone inside and taken off my shoes. Sounding concerned, Husband asked me to come back outside, to take a look at Bucks.

"Oh, crap. Better get the vet."

He was there in ten minutes. Thought at first it was heat stress. Listened to his lungs and thought not. Gave him some big mean shots and expected him to be better quickly. He'll be back sometime today, maybe on my lunch hour, so I'd best get busy and get to work early, in case I need to take a long lunch. I'll probably have to shower then, if I spend more than a couple of minutes outside in the heat. Because of the trailering issue, Bucky isn't going anywhere. So no nice vet clinic for him, no IV's. He'll have to get better here at home, or not at all.

Always something.

On the bright side, our sweet Suzy cow recently had her second set of twins. They are cute, adorable, and did I mention they were cute? Very.

Well, I'd best get with it and get to work.

Later... The vet did come at lunchtime, and Bucky is no better. Different meds were given, and the vet will be back tomorrow. Just got in and went out to see Bucky -- he seems the same. Still very labored breathing. Poor baby. I hate it when the animals are sick.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter