The Farm

Feb. 19, 2007 ~ Burden Lifted

Have you ever felt like you were caught in the middle, struggling between what you knew you should do, and doing what you had to do to protect yourself? That is probably not an uncommon feeling about one's job, and it has certainly been the case recently for me.

It is hard to talk about this without going into detail, but here's the basic situation:

Part of my job involves listening to people's concerns and sometimes their complaints. I have not been able to tell those in charge about the complaints regarding how one particular person is doing her job. She is very well-paid, and people expect her to do what she is paid to do. They get upset when her work isn't done, or done to their satisfaction. I was told to gently inform those with complaints that they are to tell the boss about it themselves, that I am not allowed to pass their comments along. People do NOT like to hear this. It is perceived as, "I don't care about your problem," or "I won't help you." Sometimes they get angry with me. Sometimes they even go a little nuts, they get so upset.

Today I listened to one woman for thirty minutes, while she ranted and yelled and got more and more upset - not at me - at the situation. Her suggestions for solving the problem involved me doing some of the other person's work - NOT something I'm interested in doing. She also suggested that committee members could take on some of the more unpleasant tasks of this person's work. I was worried that she might have a stroke - she was that upset, and very red in the face. And loud. Did I mention loud?

It was the last straw. I went to my boss and explained that I realized I was not supposed to be sharing this information, but he needed to know the effect it was having on me. That people were yelling at me, or at least yelling in my direction, and some were blaming me for not doing this person's duties. That people were angry and frustrated and he needed to know why. So I told him. And guess what? He already knew. Some people HAD come to him to talk about the problems, and he was already working on a plan to deal with it. He said that I was not to do the other person's tasks. And he listened. Much the way I have listened to everyone else these many months.

I felt as if a huge burden had been lifted. I made it clear that I believed the person in question really wanted to do a good job, and that she was trying hard. But how can someone improve if they don't know there is a problem? She may not understand what is expected of her; perhaps it was never explained properly to her. I can't imagine how I would feel if I learned that people had been complaining about my work for months, and no one had told me. I would probably be terribly embarrassed, and would wonder why no one came to me and explained what the problem was. Oh, I have told her, gently, when there are problems with specific things, and she tries to address those issues. Yet even when she tries to correct those things, people are still unhappy with the quality of her work. So it is a bit of a mess.

But at least the burden of silence has been lifted. And I am now to tell those with complaints that my boss is aware of the situation and is working on a solution. And best yet, for me, anyway, is that I can suggest they go through the proper channels, but if they prefer, I can pass the message on for them. So, less yelling.

I do not enjoy being the complaint department. But people need to feel cared for, and be listened to, and know that their concerns are valid.

And sometimes they just can't stay silent any longer.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter