The Farm

Dec. 09, 2006 ~ Trucks and trees

The silver truck is with us now, parked in the carport, happy as can be. At least, she looks happy. The cats have left pawprints on her, doing their part in breaking her in.

On Thursday morning I called a local banker friend and said that my husband was desperate to get the truck that day, if possible. She told me to just come on in, then, and it would take ten minutes to fill out the loan paperwork, tops. I did, and it did. So Thursday night, we picked up the truck. She'd had her windows freshly tinted and a trailer hitch receiver bolted to the frame, and she was itching to get out of that dangerous car lot. Oh, and she had floor mats, too. Someone had "borrowed" hers. Another vehicle was missing a tailgate, because someone had borrowed that! So we were anxious to get her out of there.

Going along with the silver trend, we are currently shopping for a silver aluminum Christmas tree. We used to have one when I was a kid, and I always loved it, even though it was kind of a pain to put together. Last week a friend and I were talking about them at church. I looked at new ones, but don't care for them. I like the old ones, and after a little looking, believe I have determined pretty much the brand and style of tree we had back in the old days. Will probably order one in the next day or two.

Oh! Amanda Jane gave birth to a beautiful, bouncing baby bull yesterday. He is so CUTE! He's solid black, like his daddy, and is soft and adorable (according to me), and is dumber than a post (according to Husband). To be fair, most newborns of any species are not exactly brilliant at birth. Cows perhaps less so than others. But he has the sweetest little face.

The feed store people are still trying to get us to buy the buffalo. We're still not buying them, though I did look at them today. The baby is awfully cute. We're not getting her, though. Forget it. We have a new truck and almost a new Christmas tree, and buffalo are not in the budget.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter