The Farm

May. 20, 2006 ~ Babies, etc.

Our grandbaby just visited us for 5 days! Oh, yes, and her parents and College Boy were here, too. It was a wonderful visit, enjoyed by all. Little Precious One may be dressed up(by her mom) like a girly-girl, but she is all tomboy. She loved playing outside, and cried whenever she had to come indoors. If she cried INdoors, the easy way to stop it was to take her OUTdoors, which made her a happy little camper once again. She rode the horse, played with the cat and dog, and petted the cows. She played in the grass and swam in her little pool. She went to the zoo, which we all enjoyed, and she just generally ruled her kingdom. She is truly adorable, and everywhere we went, strangers told us so. She smiles easily, and has great dimples. She has a beautiful laugh. She's ADORABLE! Why, yes, I probably did mention that already. She has lots of cute girly clothes, and if I had a little girl, I'd probably dress her in those girly clothes, too.

It was good to see everyone, and we are already making plans for our next visit.

Now for something on a different subject. If you have read my previous couple of entries, you know that I recently found some unclaimed property belonging to my deceased brother. The state's website listed this as being "demutualization" funds from an insurance company, which got me to wondering if maybe he'd had a policy I didn't know about. Today, for some reason, I checked the state's unclaimed property website again. There was another property listed for my brother, from that same insurance company, in a larger amount than the previous claim. I'm still waiting to hear from the insurance company for more details, but it's all very interesting, mostly because it's so unexpected. I may not have mentioned that I also found property belonging to my uncle (who is still living) in excess of $8,000, and today I found over $500 belonging to an aunt (deceased). I called my cousin to let him know about his mom's property, so he can claim it, and he was so excited! Another cousin is taking care of reclaiming the $8,000 for our uncle. Last year I found property for two other cousins. The moral of this story is: it is a good idea to check your state's unclaimed property website. Many states have this information online. It only takes a couple of minutes to Google it and find the website, then check for property belonging to you or your family members. It's so easy, and in Texas, anyway, it doesn't cost anything to check. To find the website for my state, I Googled "Texas unclaimed property." Subsitute your state's name and it should be one of Google's first links.

Happy Hunting!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter