The Farm

May. 22, 2006 ~ More of the same

Okay, this is getting ridiculous. I've stopped counting, but last I checked, I've found over $15,000 in unclaimed property online, just piddling around on the computer. It's FUN, though. I feel like Santa Claus! I've checked most of my friends and relatives' names, and now I've moved on to members of my church and my local civic club. I keep thinking I'll quit looking, but then I think of someone else to check, and it's a bit of a thrill, finding lost cash. Not one person knew it was missing or was owed to them. In less than five minutes this morning I found several hundred dollars belonging to coworkers or their family members. Imagine what YOU could do if you conducted your own search. I don't have your personal information, such as maiden names, names of relatives, locations where you've lived... things I am not privy to. So please give it a try. One online friend was pleasantly surprised yesterday... it could happen to you, too.

Be sure to check for names of deceased family members, even if they've been gone a long time. I recently found property belonging to an aunt who died in 1988, and her property was only recently turned over to the state. My father died in 1977, and there was a listing for him, too. Go figure. Some listings, I must warn you, are of little or no value. That was the case with my father -- the claim was for zero dollars and zero cents. There were probably legalities involved, though it seems like a huge waste of time and effort to have to turn over "zero" to the state, which must then advertise it and list it on a website. In his case it had something to do with a stock which had eventually dropped in value to nothing, literally. Still, there are good surprises, too, so really, it doesn't hurt to check.

If you missed my entry yesterday, just Google "_____________ unclaimed property," putting your state's name in the blank space. It will be one of the first responses. Just don't pay for the information, and be sure you are at the state's actual website, not that of a company in the business of finding lost property. I checked my name, my husband and children's names, my brother, parents, uncles, aunts, cousins, friends -- you get the idea.

Did I mention that it was fun?

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter