The Farm

Dec. 16, 2004 ~ Happier news

After two devastatingly sad days, we had several bits of good news. The best, most excellent, wonderful thing is that the wife of Husband's friend and coworker is expecting a baby. Their only son died in a four-wheeler accident not that long ago, and all the light went out of their lives. Not only was he their only child, he was the only grandchild on both sides of the family. He was conceived with great difficulty, requiring medical assistance and shots, etc. He was the miracle baby, and was such a precious boy. No one ever expected there to be another child, and now it looks like the unexpected has happened! They are putting the pregnancy in God's hands and hoping and praying that all is well. They so desperately want this baby. What a merry Christmas they will have!

Speaking of babies, our sweet daughter-in-law sent us photos of their new crib and her adorable tummy. She called it her pot belly, but to me it looks like the home of a beautiful baby.

I had such an interesting phone call today. The wife of my mother's first cousin called out of the blue to say that she had a lot of letters and photos I might like to have. And I do! They are letters from my mother when she was young, and letters from my mother's father and mother. Photos of them, too. There are even some letters from my grandfather to his father, and they are written in German! My mother's parents died before I was born, and I only have one picture of my grandfather... his wedding photo. I did not find this until my mother died. Long story there.

College Boy came home today for the holidays, and we are going to take his car to the shop tomorrow. Whew! It will be good to get it fixed. It's been a month since the accident. Tomorrow we may also bake banana bread, and he wants to learn how to make deviled eggs. He plans to take them to a party on Friday.

The arrangements for Earl have been made, and I have spoken with his daughter-in-law about the dogs, letting her know that someone has offered to take all four of them, if they need homes. She was very grateful because they had no idea what they were going to do with them, as they live out of state. I wanted to be sure to talk to her as soon as possible, so they didn't take the dogs to the pound!

A coupon arrived in the mail for a free dozen roses, which was nice. I'd been expecting it, as our local store had a promotion where if you bought two dozen roses, you were mailed a coupon for a free dozen. I usually buy roses every week anyway. Yes, it is an indulgence, but it's about the only one I have! And these are the $10 type roses, not the expensive ones from the florist. I collected my free dozen roses and bought an arrangement for a friend whose birthday is tomorrow. I looked at cute baby things today, too, and smiled and smiled. I cried some, too. But today brought more smiles than tears, and for that I am grateful.

Mostly I am worn out and so tired of talking, so tired of telling the same story over and over. Everyone wants to know the details and exactly what happened, and there were also a number of calls to make about the times for the service and visitation.

The time has gotten away from me, and it's late. Time to turn out the lights and say good night.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter