The Farm

Jun. 08, 2004 ~ Half a lifetime

Today is our anniversary -- Husband and I have been married for half of my life. The years have truly flown by. People used to tell us to enjoy our kids while they were young, because we'd turn around and before we knew it, they'd be gone. That didn't seem possible, in those early, baby years. It seemed like they would be little forever, and Husband and I would always be kids ourselves! But now there is a little more gray in our hair, a little less spring in our steps, and a lot more love in our hearts. He has been a wonderful husband. There were some pretty rough years, mostly the early ones, and I guess it was tough when the kids were teenagers, but the mind is a wonderful thing. We forget. Now, things are sailing along fairly smoothly.

Husband is still working nights, still on 12-hour-shifts, six days a week. He is just so bone-weary. He woke up earlier than he planned, got ready for work, and sat down for a minute to visit. Soon he fell asleep, and I didn't have the heart to wake him. When it was time, when he really needed to get up, I counted down the minutes, hoping to give him just a few extra moments of rest. He woke up bright and cheerful, accusing me of being the one who fell asleep. Funny guy!

It has been lonesome with Husband gone so much, but it is only temporary. It will end soon. I think of my friend who just lost her husband, and try not to complain. She knows lonely... I'm just visiting it.

We have had rain. And more rain. Oh, and did I mention that we had rain? We did. Over 8 inches so far this month, and it's only the eighth day of the month. Well, the ponds are full and overflowing, we have little bitty "ponds" in our front yard, and there is just no place for the extra water to go. The ground is saturated. But there is rain in the forecast for the next seven days, and we're under a flash flood watch. I wonder if the rivers will flood? Sure hope not. We do have green grass, and veggies in the garden, and happy cows. Wet cows, but happy cows.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter