The Farm

Jun. 10, 2004 ~ Thursday

Doug has written a brief but touching entry about bidding his son farewell. My heart hurts for him and his loved ones. I can't imagine anything harder than losing a child.


Husband has been working for his employer 25 years, as of this Saturday. There was a nice ceremony, certificates were passed out, and he and the other award recipients were given a brochure, listing and picturing gifts they could choose, as a reward for their long years of service. He handed me the brochure and told me to choose what I wanted. Which, of course, I wouldn't do. It's his gift, not mine. But. I saw the pearls. A triple strand, more than I would prefer, but they were pearls. Where would I even wear them? Do pearls go with shorts and T-shirts? Probably not. More appropriate for church, most likely.

I'm not a jewelry kind of gal, believe me. I only wear a wedding ring on special occasions (gasp!), wear a watch reluctantly, and wear a simple gold chain with an angel heart, because it was a gift from Soldier Boy. But my mother had a beautiful pearl necklace, which meant a great deal to her. And in the last weeks of her life, while she was hospitalized, she fretted and worried because those pearls had somehow gone missing. I looked and looked for them but never found them. They were just gone. She didn't even know when or where she'd lost them, but she felt their absence. And she wanted me to have them. I never found them among her things... their whereabouts are just one of life's little mysteries.

So for a moment there, I saw a chance to somehow get closure. I know, I know, they aren't the same pearls, they have no meaning, except... that she wanted me to have pearls... and here was a chance.

But they were not "my" pearls for long, as it turned out Husband was given the wrong brochure. Pearls were an option for 35-year employees. The correct brochure had some lovely jewelry, and many other choices, and Husband still wanted me to choose. He wanted a digital camera, so I chose that! It isn't a fancy one, and it will be our first. Hope it isn't too complicated.


Tomorrow, June 11th, is College Boy's birthday. Happy Birthday, Son!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter