The Farm

Oct. 23, 2003 ~ Testing the limits

It's a learning process, finding out what I can and can't do. And the funny thing is that one day I may be able to do something, but the next day I can't. Yesterday, Squeak (the world's best barn cat) and I went for a walk in the woods, because I wanted to look at mushrooms. There had been tons of them last weekend, all kinds of different shapes, colors and sizes, and I wanted to see them again. Only there didn't seem to be any, anywhere, until I saw some growing on a fallen tree, just the other side of a ravine. Without giving it much thought, I headed down the hill and went a little ways before it dawned on me that this was not a good thing to do. The hill was steep, no one else was home, and my knees are wonky. By "wonky" I mean that my knees on occasion will just go out, for lack of a better term, which sometimes leads to a fall, usually at the most inopportune times. Like going downstairs or down a hill. But I hadn't had problems in quite a while, and just wasn't thinking about it. One knee, the one that was operated on and is supposedly the better knee, was practically screaming out, "Danger, danger! Danger, Will Robinson, Danger!" And I stopped. Looked behind me, and it was very steep, up that hill. It was of course very steep going down the hill, and I was not having much luck trying to walk to the side of the hill, either, because of the angle of the land. Squeak was not a lot of help, but he was very cute. Unfortunately, it's not like I could send him back to the house or to a neighbor's for assistance. Lassie he is not.

Just standing there hurt, and going downhill was painful. I decided I'd best do something, and continued walking to the side of the hill, heading for the fenceline, knowing it was more level there. This was painful, too. I limped around the rest of the day, but was surprisingly better this morning. Note to self: No more walking in the woods alone, without a cell phone, and definitely no more walking up and down steep hills. My superwoman days are long past; I have hung up my cape.


Had lunch with a friend today, who insisted on picking up the check! Then she whipped out some unopened packages of cosmetics from her purse. Seems she had placed a big order of cosmetics, and when it arrived, there were a number of freebies thrown in for good measure. Many of the freebies were not in her colors, so she asked if I would like these products. She told me to check them out at home, and if they weren't my sort of thing, to just give them to someone else. As we walked outside to our vehicles, she said she wanted to drive over to my truck, after which she proceeded to unload some clothes she thought I might like. We had talked about us cleaning out our closets, and she mentioned that she had a couple of things she thought I might like, so I wasn't totally shocked, but she had only talked about two garments. Instead, she had maybe a dozen things, all lovely, some of them designer labels. Whoa! Just as I was about to drive away, she said, "Wait!" and gave me a large bottle of lotion, another freebie from the cosmetics company. By this time I was practically speechless.

"Can I have your car?" I asked.

We both laughed, and she said, "No!" of course.

Rats. It's a really nice car.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter