The Farm

Jun. 04, 2003 ~ Grumbling

One of the heifers is complaining mightily that she is abused, neglected and unloved. None of these things are true, of course, but she wants to visit the bull and we won't let her. She's much too young, that's all. It's for her own good. Do you think she believes a word we say? She does not. She thinks we're hateful mean, and nothing we do or say will convince her otherwise.

Bucky is also unhappy, and is neighing and griping from time to time. I suspect he's grumbling because the heifer is grumbling. It's contagious.

This morning I was out picking blackberries and plums, and both animals were fussing and making their displeasure known. I offered the heifer a berry, but she just snorted.

The berries were for my breakfast cereal. I'm not generally a breakfast cereal gal, but I think I need the fiber. I'm almost AARP material, you know. So I had some of Husband's regular cereal, with a small portion of the high fiber stuff that looks like little sticks, and a couple of tablespoons of ground flax seeds. Plus freshly picked blackberries, and several small plums on the side. I should be overflowing with good health. One would think.

For those of you with chronic health problems, whether they are of the serious or annoying variety, if you had the choice between a million dollars and good health, what would you pick? Would it matter if it was ten million dollars? For me, the answer to this one is easy... good health. No question.

Along those lines, there's a show coming out soon which is similar to the Bachelor shows, but with a twist. A man has four or five weeks to choose between 15 women for his potential mate, and in the end, the woman he picks has to choose between a chance for a relationship with the man, or a million dollars. The women are contractually forbidden from future contact with the man, should they choose the money. If they try to have their cake and eat it, too, they have to give the money back. Again, this one is so easy for me. I am a happily married woman, but assuming I was on the show and had to make the choice, it would be simple. The money. Surprised? Have ANY of those reality show marriages or relationships worked out? To my knowledge, only one of those couples is still together, and they aren't married yet. It just seems so unlikely that I would fall for some guy on a TV show, in that brief amount of time, and fall hard enough to think a chance (however small) at marriage to him would beat a million dollars. Or maybe I'm just cynical. I might have made a different choice twenty years ago. Okay, twenty-something years ago I DID marry a guy I'd only known a few weeks, and that worked out okay. If somebody had offered me a million bucks not to marry him, I can't imagine I would have taken the money. I can't picture either one of us going on one of those looking-for-love shows, though.

College Boy said he would never watch this new show. I said I might watch the last one, or the last fifteen minutes of it, to see what the woman chose.

How did I get started on this topic, anyway? Well, it's just something I've been thinking about, that's all.

It beats listening to the animals complain.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter