The Farm

May. 23, 2003 ~ Trouble

was with her mother this morning! "Trouble" being the new calf. It's probably a bad idea to name her that, because it might be tempting fate. So we'll put our thinking caps on and try to come up with a better, kinder name for her. She does seem to have a bit of a health problem, typical of calves under stress, and I'll need to stop by the vet's today and pick up something for her. This usually means squirting medicine down the calf's throat with either a large syringe (sans needle) or a turkey baster for several days. The babies generally grow to hate us afterwards. Can't say as I blame them.

I got an early start today. Gave Misha his shot, fed the cats and horses, put the cows in the hay meadow, and scrubbed out all the animals' water tubs. In the past I've only cleaned half the tubs at a time, and this seemed like a silly idea. Was I lazy or what? After tackling the third tub, I remembered that cleaning them leads to an aching back, sometimes making it difficult to straighten up. Still, I'd started, and had made up my mind to get them all done, so I finished the job. Next I picked squash and peppers, and watered the garden. Finally I picked a quart of blackberries, and was just about to start on a second quart when I noticed a curvy vine resembling a snake. When the vine stuck its tongue out, I squealed a girly squeal, looked around as if to see if anyone had heard me, then leaned in for a closer look at the snake. It didn't seem to be poisonous, though Soldier Boy is our snake expert. That darn snake was hanging from a branch next to some big, juicy berries, and I sure did want to pick them, but decided not to risk it. Poisonous or not, it was still a snake, and who wants to get bitten? Not me. Moments earlier I had bent down to reach into the vines for some distant berries, and must have had my face within inches of that beast. Probably scared him half to death. Didn't do so much for me, either, seeing him there!

Sometimes I think that fire ants are going to take over the world, or at least this part of East Texas. I noticed them inside the back door, so got out the poison and sprayed by all the doors. Ick. Sure hate to use that stuff. It used to be my job to spray the garden and the house, inside and out, to put out granules in the yard for bugs and weeds, and to spray the weeds in the ponds. But I developed neurological problems (which may or may be related to the poison), so it seems wise to avoid neurotoxins whenever possible. We just have lots of healthy weeds and happy bugs. In the country, bugs are a constant challenge! We do have some relatively safe powder, boron, I think it is, that we can put into the carpet, but it's a pretty big chore. We should probably do it, though. It lasts for about a year.

Last night it got later and later and there had been no word from Husband, who is good about calling when he's going to be late. Finally the phone rang, and he was very surprised to find me home. He thought I had a meeting, he said. Told him that I did, and I'd been there and was now back home. He apparently looked at his watch then and realized that it was 7:30. We just have a lot of trouble adjusting to Daylight Savings Time. We wake up when we should, and go to sleep when we should, but in the evenings, the time just gets away from us. We think it's earlier than it is, and sometimes we don't even go inside until 8:00 or 8:30.

Got a call from the Farm Service Bureau just now, and I need to go in and sign a new form today, so I'd best be on my way.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter