The Farm

May. 08, 2003 ~ Cow talk

I told a friend this morning that I feel dull, dull, dull, that sometimes I just can't seem to come up with anything to write about. Or don't feel like writing. I write long letters to Soldier Boy a couple of times a week, email friends, participate in several online forums, and write to my (soldier) cousin in Iraq. Perhaps I'm just "written out." My friend said I could always kill the journal and get a blog. Gasp! But I like the journal, I said. She wondered why I was complaining then. Very funny. You know who you are!

Bessie Lou, one of our original cows, had a big, pretty bull calf yesterday or this morning. She went off by herself last night and was mooing a lot, so I checked on her, but nothing. No contractions that I could see, nothing exciting happening. She was restless, though, and kept looking around, like she was expecting to see a calf. She must have been in the early stages of labor. This morning she had this BIG calf romping around beside her. And I do mean romping. Running, hopping, very energetic and strong. He sure was active for one so new. I petted him this morning; he�s very soft.

In the beginning, nearly ten years ago, we bought three little heifers. Bonnie Sue, Bessie Lou, and Beulah Mae. Beulah Mae died shortly after giving birth to her first calf. What a sad morning that was. It was very, very cold, and the little one was snuggled up to his mother, who had already died. She was still warm, though. I bottle fed that baby, and months later, it sure was hard to take him to the auction. Of those first three animals we bought, Bonnie and Bessie are still with us, and they are such good mamas, both of them.

Bessie always has big, healthy calves, and gives birth without any trouble at all. She makes it look easy. This new fellow is awfully cute. And big. Really, really big. Poor Bessie!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter