The Farm

May. 07, 2003 ~ Sleeping through it

We had quite a storm here last night. It was raging as I drifted off to sleep. Odd that it didn't keep me awake. A tornado skipped over us but went through our county and several other counties nearby. It did some damage, but nothing like what we've been hearing about on the news. Our town recently installed an emergency warning system, but I didn't hear the sirens. We must live too far away. We can hear the high school football games, though, and the band practicing in the mornings. And long before we joined our church, I could hear the beautiful music of their bells, ringing on the hour.

Today as I was driving home from the nearest city, THEIR emergency sirens sounded. Sheesh! It was exactly noon, so I assumed it had to be a test. And there were no clouds in the sky; certainly there were no tornadoes. Those sirens sure were loud, though. I don't know how anyone could sleep through them, or fail to notice them.

I sure am sleepy. Probably because I'm trying to cut back on the caffeine. Sure makes a difference. I can be driving along and will suddenly feel like I'd give anything to just take a little nap. When I get home, I think... "Naptime!" But by the time I get groceries put away or do whatever's necessary, I'm too alert to sleep. Oh, well.

We received another official notification that Soldier Boy's deployment has been extended indefinitely. We... get... it. We believe it. They are being very thorough with their notices.

College Boy just called to say that he's on his way home from school. Final exams this week. Yuck. I remember those. I think he just has one left, though.

I sure do feel boring! The most recent entries have seemed so humdrum and uninteresting. Well, maybe boring is good, sometimes. I'd rather have peace and quiet than high drama. Hmmm. Maybe my life isn't boring... I'm just not moved to report on it in an interesting way.

Must be the caffeine withdrawal. Yep. That's gotta be it.

I hope.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter