The Farm

May. 09, 2003 ~ Horse tales

This morning I was filling the horses' water tubs, and decided that one of them needed to be scrubbed out. Got a brush from the barn and there was Bucky, nickering in delight, ears alert, all bouncy and frisky and happy. He just loves to be brushed, and had assumed that I was going to brush HIM, not the tubs. So brush him I did, thoroughly, and then I cleaned the tub. While it was filling, Dakotah nickered to me, too. I walked over and just petted him. Such a sweet, precious boy. He put his chin on my shoulder, which put his head at an awkward angle. He is a small horse, and I'm a tall person, and he was standing at the bottom of a little incline, so he was in somewhat of a strain. But he was being so friendly, breathing his horsey breath in my ear, as I stroked his neck.

Bucky had a birthday this week... he was nine years old. Such a big, big baby he is. The day he was born, I let my kids stay home from school. The one and only time I let them stay home when they weren't sick. It was just such a special occasion! And I thought I might need help with Sugar, who'd had a few problems with the delivery. The vet had to come out, and he did need the boys' help, as it turned out. I loved that vet. He was just so, so excellent. Never charged enough, always acted like your horse was the most important patient in the world, and he was kind. Incredibly kind. He was a tough act to follow. It broke our hearts when he moved away. It took a long time to get used to the new guy, who had a wicked sense of humor. But we grew to count on him, too, him and his partners, but now they have sold their practice. We haven't met the NEW new guy. We will.

Today I took my newspapers to Susan's clinic (my version of recycling), and she stepped out of the back room holding a cat with one arm. She hugged me with the other arm, and I think I hugged them both, Susan and the cat, which I wanted to keep. But considering that his people were in the waiting room, that would not have worked out. He was very cute, though. We have stopped interviewing dogs. Maybe one will just show up here. That's how we get most of our animals.

She had heard on the news about some of the soldier boys and girls from my son's unit coming home, but no, it's not him. Wrong country, I think. But I am happy for the ones who are leaving Iraq. I hear some are coming home from Afghanistan next month, too. But not Soldier Boy. Unless things change. Then my shout of joy will be heard round the world!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter