The Farm

Apr. 25, 2003 ~ Sleepless in Texas

Didn't get much sleep last night. Coughed myself awake, time and time again, till it just seemed easier to get up and stay up, except for the fact that I was so sleepy. So I parked in the recliner, which seemed to ease the coughing problem. But sweet little Misha decided that my lap made for a comfy seat, and after a while he generated a lot of heat, unpleasantly so, and I couldn't feel my legs. Half asleep, I asked him to move. So he settled into the small space beside me in the chair, and things got warm again. I wanted nothing more than to sleep, just sleep, but I thought of that sweet, warm, purring boy, and how someday soon he will be gone. Then I will wish with all my heart that he was here, keeping me awake with his purring and his body heat, cutting off my circulation.

So I woke up and stroked his soft fur, and he purred all the more. I can sleep tonight. Maybe. It's a simple matter of getting our priorities straight.

Cats or sleep?

In our house, cats win every time.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter