The Farm

Apr. 26, 2003 ~ Not my son

For those who wrote, Soldier Boy is okay. In fact, he called this morning and talked for a long time (twenty minutes) with College Boy. We hate that we weren't here when he called, but are grateful that he was able to have such a long talk with his brother.

Two paratroopers were killed yesterday in Afghanistan... as I understand, they were Special Forces. My son, while special to me and all who know him, is not Special Forces. That said, some news agencies seem to think that "Special Forces" and "Paratrooper" are synonymous. Not so. I did not hear this news until AFTER our son called today, which is good. It would have been hard, hearing that information, not knowing details. We're so sad for the families of the fallen soldiers. They are in our prayers.

My son is OKAY. He is just fine. We are very relieved that he is well.

Update: The media did indeed get it wrong. One of the men killed was a young Private in my son's Division. But right now the information is very confusing... and there's more to this story. Maybe I can tell you soon.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter