The Farm

Apr. 23, 2003 ~ Twisting the knife

In the post office parking lot today, I sat and read a letter from the Army. This was the OFFICIAL official announcement, letting us know that our paratroopers will remain in Afghanistan indefinitely. This is the third official notification. Okay, we get it now. Enough already. So this was not new information, but still, as I sat and read those words, there was this little pain in my chest. I think it was just a heartache. And there were a few tears... which was pretty ridiculous. Like I said, this wasn't news. I already knew it and truly believed it.

They just twisted the knife a little, that's all.

Speaking of twisting knives... in the last entry I mentioned the recent diagnosis of acid reflux. Now, this is very treatable, and involves several approaches. Medication, for several months at least; perhaps permanently. And dietary changes.

That is just hateful mean.

I don't drink or smoke, and I'm a happily married lady. I don't spend a lot of money on clothes or anything else. I have few vices. So guess what they want me to give up?

Caffeine.

Chocolate.

Soft drinks.

Tomato products.

Milk.

Orange juice.

That is just hateful, hateful mean.

No more Diet Mountain Dew? Not even Diet Sprite? What about pasta, pizza, ketchup? Ice cream?

They amended the list by saying that some of these things could be eaten in moderation, and some could be eaten with a few changes. Like lactose-free milk and low-acid orange juice.

So I bought some of the special milk today, and it tastes just fine. And apparently, desserts come in flavors other than chocolate. I hadn't reallized this. Oatmeal raisin cookies ARE tasty. That tomato one, though, that's the hardest. Mexican food without salsa? "Moderation" for me is about one cup of hot sauce per meal. Think that will work? Maybe I can take an extra dose of antacid with it?

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter