The Farm

Apr. 15, 2003 ~ Open season

For reasons unknown, I had received a coupon in the mail good for one free item of clothing -- okay, underwear --from Victoria's Secret. I am not typically a Victoria's Secret gal. Can't actually remember the last time I've been there, but it has probably been several years. Ten, maybe. But it was a free item, so I took them up on their offer.

I'm not really much of a shopper, but when we do go to the mall, I usually indulge in one of two things, either a pretzel with cheese or a brownie. Sometimes both! (Shhhhh! Don't tell anyone.) As I walked from the girly store to the pretzel place, two men walked in my direction, and one of them definitely gave me "the look." It's been a while since I have seen this particular look from a total stranger, and it almost made me blush. When I got to the pretzel place, a young boy (the only employee in evidence) waited on me. With a husky voice, he counted out my change, touching my hand as he did so, and making a point to place his other hand over mine as he put the last coins there. He left it there long enough for me to be uncomfortable. "If I can help you in any way, all you have to do is ask," he said in that low, throaty voice. And he gave me "the look." I KNOW I blushed then. For goodness sake, I'm old enough to be his mother. Maybe even his grandmother!

Now, you would have no way of knowing this, but when I'm not in sweats or farm clothes, I tend to dress in a very ladylike way. Loose clothing, nothing revealing. Your Great Aunt Matilda would probably approve. Yesterday I wore loose khaki slacks, a loose pale purple blouse, and a black jacket. Black pumps with maybe a one-inch heel. Minimal makeup (which is normal for me), not even mascara. No one would look at me and think "hot mama," with the possible exception of men who have been in prison for many, many years. And that's a stretch. So I was beginning to feel... how shall I put this... creeped out.

Then, while I was eating my pretzel, a man from one of my meetings happened by, and wanted to chat. He was making a point about something, and to make a long story short, he wound up touching my thigh. I almost spit pretzel goo at him. He begged my pardon.

By this time I felt like a twelve point buck on the first day of deer season. Had I forgotten to wear some essential item of clothing... like pants? And then it dawned on me.

The sack.

From Victoria's Secret.

Good grief.

Next time, if there ever IS a next time, I'll be sure to take a Wal-Mart sack with me, and put the OTHER sack inside that one.

You single ladies, on the other hand, may want to do some shopping at the girly store, or at least carry one of their sacks.

Or not.

It really was kind of creepy.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter