The Farm

Feb. 24, 2003 ~ This and that

Last night there was a very special service at our church. It was meant to honor the members of our military who are in harm's way, and to support them and their families. It wasn't really "rah rah" cheerleader stuff about war or "our country right or wrong"... not at all. It was about prayer and love, and being there for each other. There was a slide presentation with photos of each of our military men -- including Soldier Boy -- and so much more. At the end, and this was unplanned, the military families were asked to stand at the front of the church, and the members of the congregation all came up and hugged us. I don't think there was a dry eye in the house.

There were good cookies afterwards, and you really can't go wrong with cookies.


No word from Soldier Boy recently. I got spoiled by his emails! But that must have been just a sometime thing, nothing permanent, so it's probably going to be a while until his next letter. So be it. We write to him every week.


My face hurts. And ears. And I feel like I swallowed a golf ball. I started one more round of antibiotics today. I'm desperately hoping that this one does the trick. I've heard mixed reviews of the proposed sinus surgery, but the thing is, every surgery has risks, and I'd rather avoid it if at all possible. And it's expensive.


There is a winter storm warning in our area. Ick. College Boy is at school, and it's a long drive home. Hope the bridge hasn't iced over, that he makes it okay. Hope I make it okay, too. I have a meeting tonight and it's a long drive from here. When the weather is bad, few people show up, but that's the way it goes. I'm sure it will all work out just fine.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter