The Farm

Feb. 25, 2003 ~ Tuesday

I spent some time today calculating the value of our last remaining savings bonds, wondering if it might be enough to pay for a new heat pump. It would, but then that would leave us with almost no savings. We aren't big spenders, not by a long shot. Our idea of "going overboard" is ordering appetizers with dinner. And we don't go out too much anymore. Okay, I can't remember the last time we did.

We HAD savings at one time, and not too long ago. But things keep coming up. Couple of years ago, a tree fell on our roof. Insurance didn't pay for much, and that set us back a few thousand dollars. Then there was the car accident. My MRI bills (we're still paying on those). College Boy's school expenses (that's a big one). And last year's vet bills were pretty high (Susan doesn't do cows or horses). Just stuff. The usual expenses, plus some unusual ones, and Husband isn't getting as much overtime at work. We're also trying to send a couple of packages a month to Soldier Boy.

It's cold here. 32 degrees might not qualify as cold where some of you live, but it's cold for this part of Texas, and for this time of the year. Just two days ago it was 70 degrees. I was hopeful that I was actually getting better, that the new drug might do something about this stupid sinus problem, but last night it was rainy and cold, and today, the heater froze up outside. Literally. It always does, when it gets this cold. And we have to burn wood in the stove, which stuffs us up, but hey. So that's what I had to do today, start a fire, and now I feel worse than ever. Smoke makes me sick under the best of circumstances, and if I'm already sick... So I am wondering why we're waiting about getting the new heat pump. It really is inevitable. We've been spending something like 3 or 4 hundred dollars a summer on repairs, and now the bottom part is rusting out, which means it's a goner. It's only a matter of time. It doesn't even work that well now. Doesn't cool much or heat all that well, and it sounds really strange when it runs. So I'm thinking we're just going to have to do this, like it or not.

A friend just called and said it's raining at his house. That means it will soon be raining here. So I will say a little prayer that College Boy makes it safely home from school tonight.

And now I'm going out to feed the horses. No matter what, they get hungry.

PS -- When I can't think of a name for an entry, I think I'll just use the day of the week. Not very creative, but there you go.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter