The Farm

Jan. 30, 2003 ~ Jobs

Went for an interview at the medical facility today. Everyone there was very nice, including the doctors, but I'm not sure I am cut out for the job. Part of it is just an overall lack of confidence. Aside from my little part-time job, I've mainly been a stay-at-home mom and housewife for the past 20 years. So I've been out of the job market for quite a while now. But also, this is a front desk position, and that's all it will ever be. Meet and greet, and answering the phones. This is not a bad thing for those who are cut out for it; I'm just not sure that's me. It's very hectic, crazy hectic, and I might need something slower paced. In an ideal job situation, I would never choose "answering the phone" as something I would enjoy. A little bit is fine, but this is pretty intense. I'd been told there was room for advancement, but it's actually very limited. It would just mean more duties, but I would still be the receptionist/secretary. So we shall see.

There's another job possibility here locally, and I'd like to meet with that employer today or tomorrow, as I need to make a decision by tomorrow (re the medical job). This pays less than the medical job, there are fewer hours, and there is zero room for advancement! But hey, they are jobs, and they do pay something, and it would help pay the bills.

Update:

The local employer is charming. Friendly, kind, easy-going... and I'm sure she will make someone a wonderful boss. But not me.

Because I wasn't actually looking for a job, I hope it's okay if I don't accept either one of these. "Okay" in the sense of being okay with the universe. I mean, there will be more jobs available, right? And somewhere there is bound to be a situation that would suit me perfectly.

I'll keep looking. Or maybe more offers will fall into my lap. Maybe not. But I have to believe that it will all work out.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter