The Farm

Jan. 24, 2003 ~ Cats

Misha had another hypoglycemic episode today. I noticed him circling round and round, sniffing the floor, just as I was walking out the door to go run some errands. He did not respond when I called his name; he didn't purr when I picked him up and stroked him. I gave him some corn syrup and waited with him awhile, till he came back to himself. Then he drank a little milk. He started focusing again, and looking at me, and purring. And he knew his name. I stayed a few minutes longer just to be sure he was okay, then it was off to do those errands.

We have been so lucky with him. I've lost count of the times this has happened, but I've always been here to help. Doc says that owners of diabetic pets usually come home and find them dead, because the pets "crash," like Misha did today, and no one happens to be there. Or it happens during the night when everyone is sleeping. I am in and out a lot during the day, coming and going, and that would all change, if I took this other job. It has crossed my mind that I wouldn't be here to rescue Misha or to help cows in trouble. But most people aren't, right? Most of us do have to work, and we do the best we can, in terms of our other obligations. I'm still thinking about all of this.

Blackie cat ate out of my hand today. And I've petted her two days in a row now. That's progress. Tomorrow I'll try to put medicine in her eye. I bought a bunch more canned cat food, so the barn cats should be happy campers. Think I'll go give them some more food now. It's cold out there!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter