The Farm

Jan. 21, 2003 ~ Danger? And opportunity

Funny thing happened the other day at the grocery store. My instincts are usually pretty good. First impressions of people are most often accurate. So College Boy and I are at the local grocery store, just buying a few items while we wait for a prescription to be filled next door, and I see a friend. Such is life in a small town. We stop and catch up on all our news, we visit for a while, and then we resume our shopping. Son has gotten bored by this time and has wandered off. I'm in the condiment aisle, looking for catsup and ranch dressing, and this really BIG guy is wandering around, and for whatever reason, he makes me extremely uncomfortable. You know how you just go on "alert," sometimes? Danger, danger, Will Robinson! (If you don't know what that means, you are much, much younger than yours truly!) This guy was just shopping, one would assume, but there was something about him that gave me chills ... he got too close to me several times. First, when I was standing there talking with my friend, and then when I was shopping for the condiments. We all have our own sense of personal space, and this guy was just way over the line. Couple of times I even stepped back away from him. He didn't LOOK strange or frightening, and I wondered if my reaction might be to the fact that he was so big... both tall and wide... and I'd never seen him before. Anyway, I looked up and there was College Boy, back from his wandering, approaching rapidly, arms folded, with an intense look on his face. He stood right next to me, giving that guy his intense look.

I quickly scooted away from that aisle and finished the rest of my shopping, always glancing down each aisle first to be sure that guy wasn't there. This sounds silly, doesn't it? But I can't even recall the last time I felt this way about anyone, and I've learned to listen to my feelings about such things.

In the bread aisle, he was there again. He just always seemed to be purposely in my way, if that makes any sense. Like he was trying to get me to notice him. I had to squeeze by him and said something like "Exuse me, please." To which he replied, very politely, "That's all right, Ma'am." Then he started talking about the soy content of bread. Huh? Say what? Yes, he said, it was amazing how soy was in so many different varieties of bread, and other products, too. He then went on to explain that his sister has breast cancer, the type which is affected by estrogen, and her doctors have told her to avoid soy products. Maybe he might have better luck at a health food store in the nearby larger city, I suggested. But he had just been there. He named the two stores I was going to suggest.

Huh. Well then, maybe she might need to buy a bread machine and make her own bread? Yes, that's what they were going to have to try next.

That whole conversation took me by surprise. Big bad biker type guy was really shopping for his sick sister? I later told this story to Husband, and laughed about how silly I felt, because I'd misjudged this guy so badly. But then College Boy said, "Mom, I felt the exact same way about him. I don't know why. But when I saw him next to you in the aisle I knew I needed to get over there right away. There was something "wrong" about him." And I hadn't realized it, but Son had been right there when this bread conversation took place, too. He had not let me out of his sight the whole time.

So I don't know what to think. He was probably just a harmless fellow who happened to have a somewhat intimidating appearance, and who has a bad habit of standing a little too close to people... that's all. But thinking about him even now, I still have a funny feeling. Like I'll see him on the news someday.


Funny thing happened at work last night, too. Someone introduced me to her sister, who asked if I had been to a certain temporary agency before. Yes, I had. Almost a year ago, to the day. She worked there, had talked to me there. And remembered me. We're talking about a brief conversation a year ago. I was disappointed, back then, because there was no work to be had. The situation was very bleak. She had given me their statistics, and it was all very sad. I'd never bothered to call back, because I'd sat there in that office and listened to the receptionist tell a steady stream of callers, "Sorry, we don't have any work right now." Anyway, the temp agency lady looked at me like she was going through her mental filing cabinet, trying to recall my information. She nailed it. I was impressed! She told me about a particular job, part-time, which would soon be available. Would I be interested? This is a temp-to-permanent position. It would mean giving up a couple of things which I really enjoy, because the hours would conflict. But it's in a medical facility. She told me to give it some thought, and to call her today. I'm still thinking. Guess I will call her soon for more information. It might require skills I don't have, which would mean I didn't have to do any further thinking about it. The pay is much less than what I earn in my present part-time job, though I think I could continue my current job. I ran the numbers, saw about what I would net per year after expenses and taxes, and it's not a whole lot. But it would help pay some bills. It would probably be a stressful position. Could I handle it?

I'm still thinking about it.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter