The Farm

Dec. 17, 2002 ~ Everyone asks,

literally EVERYone, if we have heard from Soldier Boy. I have to smile and say no, and explain about the mail situation. And then the next time I see them, they usually ask again. Sometimes they even get a worried look and ask if we think everything is okay, to which we can only reply "Yes." It's kind of nice that everyone remembers, that they are thinking of him, but it also reminds me of our empty mailbox. Still, I don't expect it to be empty forever. Soon there will be a letter, or maybe even two or three letters. Very soon.

In the meantime, I'm making a good effort to get those Christmas cards out. I wonder what would happen if, one year, we didn't send them? Would everyone mark us off their list, and stop sending them to us? There are people that we only contact at Christmas. That note scribbled on the card each year, that's our big chance to hear their news. Oh, I know that I could write letters at other times, but I've gotten really bad about doing that. Just ask my friends. Once upon a time I wrote long, newsy letters. But since the advent of email, I tend to just email instead. And they are usually not so long or newsy (except maybe to Cousin Myrna... Hi, Myrna!), and even those are few and far between.

But here it is nearly Christmas, and I'm still working on those cards. I still have shopping to do, too. So I'd best go feed the horses and then get started on the cards!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter