The Farm

Dec. 10, 2002 ~ Why is it

that when I'm NOT sitting at the computer, I can think of all sorts of clever, humorous, or thoughtful things to write about, but when I plop myself down in the chair, my mind goes blank? That's how it's been the last couple of days.

I have resigned myself to the fact that it might be the end of January, at the earliest, before I hear from Soldier Boy. Or it could be as soon as next week; it all depends. But the end of January is not unreasonable, so I'm just trying not to worry. We're assuming that all is well. Thinking positive thoughts.


A friend has recently been diagnosed with breast cancer, and last night we had a good, long visit. Right away I could tell that she didn't want to hear any "poor baby" talk, no words of sympathy. She was upbeat and cheerful, though realistic. She said that she hadn't wanted anyone to know at first, not due to embarrassment or privacy concerns, but because she didn't want to have to deal with everybody ELSE being upset. Word has gotten out -- she doesn't know how, but assumes it's just part of life in a small town -- and she has had to be the one to soothe crying friends, offer reassurances, and calm people down. Isn't that interesting? One would think it would be the other way around. So we talked about the specifics of her diagnosis, frankly, and she really seems... okay with it. If such a thing is possible. She is an inspiration. You know how people always say, "Well, at least you have your health." Last night College Boy was talking about how stressed out he was over an exam he'd taken that morning, and I listened and nodded sympathetically. Before I knew it, I said something like the aforementioned "health" comment. Clich�s popping out of my mouth, unbidden! But then we talked about the friend's illness, and sometimes such things really DO make us feel that our problems aren't so bad. Other times we feel sad about the other person's problems, but still think our own troubles are pretty serious. I try to stay firmly in the "count your blessings" camp, though at times that can be a challenge.


Another friend has a son who has just ENLISTED in the Air Force, and will be leaving for Basic Training soon. What a time to enlist! The boy had been drifting from job to job, unsure of what he wanted to do in life, and I guess this just seemed like the thing to do for now. His mom is plenty worried, though. We are banding together here, those of us with sons and daughters in the military. Two of College Boys' best friends are also in the service now.

And speaking of military, I'd best end here, and get to work on Soldier Boy's next package and letter. The box is nearly full, and I have more stuff to add, plus I want to write to him.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter