The Farm

Oct. 30, 2002 ~ Potpourri

Though I have never been to New England, I know that Autumn here and there are two different animals. I keep hearing about the beautiful "Fall Colors," and "Autumn in New England." I've seen pictures, and oh, my... they are breathtaking. Stunning. Seeing those colors in nature... amazing. But our fall is quiet, understated, partly due to being in the Piney Woods. All those pines, you understand, tend to stay pretty green. Oh, we have hardwoods, of course, and they do change colors. But it's more of a whisper than a shout. We have the occasional beautiful specimin, and our particular woods, having been logged of their pines in recent years, have more color than most. So dotting the hillside, in the pasture outside my bedroom window, there are glimpses of red and gold and orange.

I love this time of year! And I'm not complaining about the fog or mist or dark, dreary clouds, because East Texas farmers and ranchers are NOT allowed to complain about rain, ever, not even to their closest friends. We've been through too many droughts. But if it's not too much trouble, a little sunshine would be appreciated. Whenever it's convenient. It would make those back pasture rainbow trees even prettier.


While cleaning out a cabinet this afternoon, I found an unusual tape. It was titled "Carol's Favorites, 1991." Hadn't seen it in a while! Here's a list of what's on it:

Tracy Chapman -- Fast Cars

Bruce Springsteen -- Dancin' in the Dark

Bruce Springsteen -- I'm on Fire

Ray Charles -- What a Wonderful World

Williams Brothers -- Can't Cry Hard Enough (I'm not positive, but I think this was played at my brother's funeral)

Madame Butterfly, 2 songs (What can I say? I like it.)

Kathy Mattea -- Where've You Been (This one usually brings a tear to my eye.)

Michael Murphy -- Wildfire (Once upon a time, in another life, this was "Our Song.")

Michael Murphy -- Disenchanted (See above message. This one makes perfect sense. And I remember when Michael Murphy played for free.)

Tracy Chapman -- Sorry

Jimmy Buffet -- Spider John (One of my all-time favorites, and has been for... ulp... since I was a teenager.)

Bette Midler -- Wind Beneath my Wings

Don McLean -- Vincent (This one means a lot to me.)

Here's a thought. Try making a tape or CD of your favorite songs. Don't forget to write the date on it. Take it out in ten years and listen to it. Bet you'll be surprised. Maybe you could drop me a line and tell me what would be on YOUR "favorites" tape. I'd have to give my choices some thought, but here's one song I do love... Janis Ian's "When Angels Cry."

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter