The Farm

Nov. 01, 2002 ~ A gorgeous young buck

just ran through the hay meadow. All alone. For a moment he paused. I thought he was going to jump the fence and come into the front yard, but he thought better of it. What a sight he was, so close. I understand that some people like to hunt deer, but we just enjoy looking at them. He seemed so majestic, standing there. He wasn't quite sure where he wanted to go. He turned and looked behind him, more than once, as if he expected others to follow. Finally he bounded off towards the woods next door, then changed his mind and hopped over the cross fence, into the horse pasture, towards the ravine. Would he try to jump that? Surely it's too wide. But I lost sight of him in the trees. We mostly see does around here, with the occasional fawn, but I could count on one hand the number of bucks I've seen since we've lived here. So this was a treat.

It's funny how all the animals co-exist. The cows and horses don't seem to mind the deer that pass through. Sometimes they all graze side by side. And we have this little community of cats. As I watched the deer, I couldn't help but notice the cats, just sitting quietly out in the pasture, dotting the landscape, as if they were planted there. Here a gray one, there a black one, over there a gray tabby. Parked. Tails curled around them, just contemplating the meaning of life or whatever it is that cats contemplate.

This morning as Dakotah walked past me, out into the pasture, I ran my hand along his side, just like always. Only today, his hair felt fluffed up and thicker. Ah, cold weather's coming. Isn't that amazing, being able to grow your own winter coat?

It's a little chilly here, currently 55 degrees. Last night I finally put a light comforter on the bed, and it was just right. I contemplated starting a fire in the stove, but it's not really cold enough for that yet.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter