The Farm

Aug. 28, 2002 ~ Hoppy, again

Susan was concerned that when Hoppy tore his bandage, he may have pulled it taut, overly tight. I check him for swelling twice a day, morning and evening, and so far so good. But last night there was a small amount of swelling, right in the area of the break, and his bandage was shredded, barely staying on. The tape and splint are still there, though, which is what counts. This morning Susan and I went out to look at Hoppy's leg, and yes indeed, there is swelling. But it's not bad enough for us to have to re-splint him, THANK GOODNESS!

Last night when I told Husband about Hoppy's swelling, he seemed angry. No, he WAS angry. But not at me, he said. He was upset because just about every time he goes out of town, something goes wrong. I am in no position to wrestle with Hoppy. Even with a broken leg, that calf can still run, and he can easily outrun me. He's also big and strong and he kicks. Can you see me tackling him, throwing him to the ground, and tying three of his legs together? No? Me, neither. In an emergency, we could ask a neighbor to help, but shoot, I hate to do that. I had to convince Husband that no, I wasn't going to try to put Hoppy in the head gate or try to mess with his leg. He seemed to doubt my sincerity. Ahem. But I really, really wouldn't try this on my own.

---------------------------

The mower still won't start, and Husband decided that it's the solenoid AND the starter, so we have ordered both parts and they are supposed to arrive in a few days. We're keeping our fingers crossed that this will do the trick.

---------------------------

Neither housecat ate any food at all last night. (I measured the food in their food bowls -- none is missing.) What's the deal? BOTH of them aren't eating? No insulin for Misha.

---------------------------

The tractor is being its usual goofy self. The transmission still isn't working right, which means that Husband is the only one who can make it work at all. Saturday a low-hanging branch knocked off the muffler, and it took hours for Husband to get it welded back on. Then he did some bush-hogging for a while, and eventually he parked the tractor. I did a double-take when I saw it.

"Um, Honey, what is that THING on top of the muffler?" I asked.

"It's a coffee can."

"Uh, huh, I can see that. Why is it there?"

Then he told me that the flap had come off the muffler, and the flap keeps the rain out, so he improvised. Well, it certainly made me smile. I feel more "country" every day!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter