The Farm

Aug. 27, 2002 ~ A storm blew through

here this morning. I had just finished tending to the animals and was heading inside when I looked up and saw what looked like a wall cloud. If you've seen one before, you don't forget it. So tornadoes were possible, though I never worry much about them. This morning was no different, though we were under a severe thunderstorm warning. Then the weather radio (normally on "standby") came on with a message to "take cover, NOW." But the TV weather bulletins reported the possible tornado as being several miles away, going in the opposite direction, so we held off on that taking cover thing. And it probably WASN'T a tornado anyway. Do I sound unconcerned? Tornadoes are serious business, and I've seen them up close and personal. But I guess it's like the people in California who grow accustomed to earthquakes. They're a part of life.

Lots of trees and power lines were blown down, and I should probably get out there and check the fences. I wonder how wet Dakotah is? I wonder how he would feel about being ridden bareback? My back is acting up, and I don't think I could manage lifting the saddle. No one else is here. Hmmmm. Actually, riding is not really a good choice when one's back is aching, so scratch that idea. Guess I'll walk. And guess I'll get wet.

The cats aren't sneezing today, and they are eating at least a little bit.

Susan said that as long as Hoppy's splint stays on, it's okay. The wrap isn't meant to provide support to the bones; it's there to hold the splint in place.

Thunder is rumbling, so I'm not sure if I should check the fences now or should wait. If there's another big storm... I'd just have to do it again. So we'll see.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter