The Farm

Jan. 03, 2002 ~ If this is a sign

of things to come, I'd say that 2002 is off to an awful start. Be advised that "awful" was not my original choice of words.

This morning I went out in 20 degree weather to feed the animals, with nothing more on my mind than hoping that it wouldn't take long, so I could take a nice, hot shower. I fed the horses, then turned my attention to the cows. As they passed through the gate, into the back pasture, the head count was wrong. One was missing, so I headed off to look for her. A heifer, due to have her first calf, I hoped to find her with a shiny, soft new baby. But I knew I was in trouble when a rogue coyote, standing atop the hill, wouldn't leave when he saw me coming. He waited until the very last minute to take off, which is most unusual. Either that animal was rabid, or... we had a problem.

We had a problem.

From a distance, I could see the blood on the calf, so much blood that the baby had to be dead. Two more coyotes were circling round the calf and mama; they, too, seemed reluctant to leave. The calf was already gone, and the coyotes had ravaged it. Mama stood there, looking anxious, and then she turned around. Oh, no. A prolapsed uterus.

Well, I will spare you the goriest of the details. The vet has been out here twice, now. Once he came when I called him; the second time he came on his own. He's done what he can for her, but at this point it doesn't look good. And judging from all the time this has taken so far, and all the shots, treatments, and medications used, Hannah Mae has just become our most expensive cow. The vet's office will send me a bill when they get around to it.

She won't/can't get up. And if she won't get up, she won't make it, no matter what we do for her.

We had plans for today. Never mind. Sometimes plans change. I've petted and petted Hannah, have done all I can to encourage her to stand, but she just puts her head down by my feet and sighs. She takes a deep breath, and looks at me with such fear... It's possible that she is bleeding internally and there's not a thing anybody can do about that. We'll just have to wait and see.

So I'll end here, put my boots back on, and go out and check on Hannah Mae.

Wish us luck.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter