The Farm

July 16, 2001 ~ Babies

Yesterday morning while we were at church, the cutest little white heifer calf was born. We came home to find her already up and around, looking for lunch, wide-eyed and ready for life. Her mother is part Longhorn, and it really shows in the baby. She's a gangly, long-necked, big-eared thing, just as cute as cute can be. And she's strong! Yesterday she was running with her tail held high, as fast as her little legs would carry her, playing with the other calves. It did my heart good to see her, especially after losing Emma's calf... was it two weeks ago? It's so nice when things go right, when everything falls into place. This morning she was spending time with one of the big steer calves, and it was funny to watch the two of them. She'd look at him carefully, noting how he ate grass and leaves, then she would reach down and try to do the same. With baby teeth she chomped the blades of grass, watching her brother, then chomping some more.

AND we have baby ducks! Wild ones, brown ones. One mama duck and four cute babies. They look to be about three, maybe four weeks old. You should have seen them swimming on the small pond this morning.

Ponds are such a good thing. I can't remember not loving the water, any kind of water, whether it was a creek, a pond, a lake or an ocean. Give me water and fish and wild things splashing, and I'm happy. Sometimes I get busy and forget to spend time by the water, but last night I sat on the bench by the pond, watching the newborn calf... as Henry (our bull) stood no more than six feet away.

"Ya done good, Henry. That's a fine little daughter you have there."

Well, he didn't answer, of course, but I'm sure he appreciated the compliment.

And it soothed my soul, listening to the crickets and frogs and watching the little fish go after the mosquitos. This morning I headed back down there, after doing my morning chores. It had seemed so hot and sultry, back at the barn, but the breeze by the pond felt cool and fresh. I couldn't stay long, but it was fun to watch the calves, and Taffy Cat came and sat beside me on the bench. Star Cat wanted to join us, but felt shy. She sat and meowed from a distance.

Later I walked among the herd, checking out the cows who were due to calve soon, and Star and Taffy both walked right at my heels. Did you know it's hard to walk when cats are rubbing against your legs?

Back to earth. Had to come inside, to mundane things like making appointments and doing chores and getting ready for tonight's meeting.

------------

Our oldest son wrote THREE letters last week! From the Army. There, I've said it. He is in the Army. For real.

But he's still my baby.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter