The Farm

Jul. 22, 2003 ~ A cool breeze

this morning was an unexpected delight. I let Dakotah out and dealt with Bucky's "hay mane." You've heard of bed-head, right? Well, Bucky gets hay mane. He eats hay from the manger and gets hay tangled in his long forelock. So every weekday morning I turn Dakotah into the back pasture and remove the hay from Bucky's forelock and mane, so it won't be in his eyes. These past few weeks, Husband has had to do his chores and mine, and my hands have been too sore to tend to the tangles in Bucky's mane. You know that old commercial for a children's hair product, where the little girl is having her hair combed? She frowns and almost cries, because it hurts so much, having those tangles combed out. Imagine trying to pull those mats and tangles out of the hair of a thousand-pound horse. Bucky was only somewhat patient, and he got bored and started nosing me. He puts his nose against me and snorts or breathes his warm horsey breath on me. Sometimes he can't resist the urge to take a bit of fabric in his teeth and tug. It's not like he's actually biting, though. Oh, no. He would never do that. I hope. Some of the worst tangles have now been removed. If I keep at it, his mane should be tangle-free in a few days.

I watered the tomatoes and pepper plants, and lots and lots of weeds. Our garden has come to that time in its life when it wouldn't hurt my feelings if it just died. This happens every year. At first it's, "Tomatoes! Yea!" Then it's, "Oh, good, we have lots of tomatoes. Let's share them with our friends and neighbors." Then it becomes, "I heard the Smiths are going out to dinner tonight. Maybe you could leave a big sack of vegetables on their porch. Quick, while it's still dark!"

This will be a busy day today. My secretarial duties (for a local civic group) usually wind up taking hours to complete. I expect it will get easier, eventually. And I'm subbing for a friend tonight, so I'll be home late from work. Looks like a long day, and I'm yawning already. Better hop in the shower and get busy. Or else go back to bed and take a nap. It's so hard to decide!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter