The Farm

Nov. 06, 2009 ~ A pretty girl!

Today I gave a message to someone doing some contract work at the church, and he said he would have his boss come and see me when he arrived. A little later I walked outside and happened to overhear part of their conversation.

"I didn't catch her name."

"Dark haired? Real pretty girl?"

And then, as I came around the corner and into their sight,
"There she is!"

Which for reasons I cannot explain, made me grin from ear to ear. Whoo hoo! Someone said I'm a pretty girl! At my age I don't hear such things from strangers very often. I don't know what was more exciting, hearing the word "pretty," or "girl."

But after a couple of minutes I started second-guessing and wondered if I'd misheard. Surely I did. What he must have said was...

"Not a real pretty girl?"

Yes, surely that was it. No doubt about it. Rats. But what possible difference does it make, either way? It doesn't. Much. Sometimes I just have to laugh at myself.

I'm still smiling about the "girl" part, though! I'm usually referred to as "ma'am."

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter