The Farm

Feb. 03, 2009 ~ A light goes out

This morning a friend called to let me know that we had lost a much-loved friend, our "second mother," Gilda. The news took my breath away.

Surely the stars won't shine tonight. Surely the sun will be hidden from sight tomorrow. I just can't believe she's gone.

When I think of her, the first word that comes to mind is "beautiful," though she probably wouldn't describe herself that way. But she is, was, one of the most genuinely beautiful people I've met, and it was my great privilege to know her. Her beauty came from deep in her heart and soul. She had a way of making everyone she met feel special, important, and cared for. When she listened, she really heard what others had to say.

She was kind, caring, smart and funny. She had a beautiful singing and speaking voice.

There is so much more I could say, so much more I should say, but for now the words won't come.

Gilda, we will miss you terribly.

And now, I'll close the way I always ended messages to my friend.

Love you.

C.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter