The Farm

Mar. 24, 2008 ~ Spring fever

I had a spell of spring fever today. It was soooooooo pretty outside; I could almost taste it. I told Co-worker that I was going to take a break and go sit in the prayer garden for 10 or 15 minutes. But after about 4 or 5 minutes I came back inside.

"You sure weren't out there very long," he said.

"Yeah. It wasn't as much fun as you might think. Mostly looking at brick walls, with a few plants."

Being me, I couldn't help but notice that various plants needed water, weeds needed to be pulled, bushes trimmed, the trees were too big for the space, blah, blah, blah. Basically, I wanted to be home, with my own grass and trees and ponds and space. No brick walls.

So when I came home, Meadow and I went down to the big pond. I walked all the way around it, even with hurty knees. Because I am a big girl. Big and brave. Everything smelled so GREEN. Did you know that green has a smell? It does in the springtime. I even like the pond smells, some of which wouldn't win any awards. Kind of marshy, decaying smells. Even though it's cool outside, in the low 60's, Meadow went into the pond. And being as how she was already wet, I threw sticks into the pond for her to fetch. She will not swim very far, as she is afraid of snakes and/or snapping turtles.

Anyway, when she came out, she would shake, shake, shake, and finally she jumped up on the bench with me and gave a biiiiggg shake, and now, guess who needs to wash her hair, clothes, and take a shower? It would be the person who smells like a wet dog. A wet, pond-swimming dog.

Tomorrow is service club day, Tuesday, so there will be no coming home for lunch. No Abby cat. On the up side, the cleaning fairy will be here, so I will come home to a magically clean house. I will really appreciate it. After my stick-throwing and walking around the pond, I am tarred. That's "tired," if you do not speak fluent East Texan.

I love sunshine in the spring!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter