The Farm

Dec. 02, 2007 ~ Abigail

Meet the newest member of our family, Abby. She has several middle names, because all of our animals do. Abigail Matilda Madison. Or possibly Abigail Madison Matilda. We're not certain. She is extrememly adorable and on occasion is a maniac, charging around the room at warp speed, hanging from the drapes and furniture, with a wild look in her eyes.

When our last cat died, Husband thought we should have no more cats in the house. All that cat hair, and him being stuffed up all the time, and his allergies, you know. And yes, I have allergies, too, though not to cats. Husband has never been tested, so can't be certain what causes his problems. Anyway, being a somewhat agreeable wife, I went along with his request, reluctantly, because I am absolutely, without question, a cat person. I am just UNHAPPY without cats in close proximity. By close, I mean in my lap or beside me on the chair.

Abby is the kitten who showed up at church a while back. I never intended to bring her home, but Husband suggested it. Well, to hear him tell it, that's not exactly how it happened. He claims that I talked about the kitten all the time, driving him crazy, until he finally had all he could take, and asked when I was bringing her home. Which shocked me, because it violates our number one house rule, "We feed all cats who show up on our property, but we do not bring cats home from anywhere else." So, if they show up, fine. But we do not bring them here. Until Abby.

I really planned to just toss her out in the barn (Oh, fine. I was going to place her GENTLY.) and hope for the best. But I took her to get her shots first, and when I picked her up at the clinic, she had been spayed. Ahem. A long story. So we kept her inside, just until she healed, supposedly, and darned if it didn't take her a really, really long time to heal. She's still healing, possibly. At some point, I'm not sure when, I realized that I really loved coming home to a kitten. She makes us laugh. She keeps us company. And did I mention that she is cute, and has that baby kitten meow?

So, quite by accident, it seems she's going to be staying inside. For the next fifteen years or so. Husband appears to agree. I KNOW I said I wouldn't do this, but sheesh, people are allowed to change their minds, right?

And she's cute.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter