The Farm

Oct. 20, 2007 ~ The perfect blanket

I have the perfect blanket. Perfect for me, though probably not for everyone. For me, it's all about softness and being lightweight. Maybe I was that way before the fibromyalgia, but I don't think so. Now, everything has to be soft and not hurt my skin, and heavy clothing or blankets are just downright miserable.

This perfect blanket is made of something called "microplush," which feels a whole lot like a teddy bear's fur. It's a twin blanket, actually purchased by mistake. I thought it was a throw. Anyway, it is absolutely perfect, because sometimes I need just a little something more than a sheet, but not much, and it is easy to toss it aside during the night if I get too warm. It rests easily in the small space between me and Husband, and is not heavy enough to be annoying or feel like the weight is pulling on me. I can quickly grab it and cover up with it, and not come fully awake. My previous favorite blanket was made of Vellux, which was soft and light but was somehow stiff, too, and didn't conform well to the contours of one's body. It also had this nasty habit of slipping off the bed and onto the floor. The new blanket never makes that mistake, because after all, it is perfect.

It is so wonderful that I thought I'd buy a king-size one, so Husband could share in the joy. Imagine my dismay when I unwrapped it and found it to be... HEAVY. It IS soft, and it looks like the beloved blanket, but yet it isn't. Because it's actually two layers thick, like two blankets sewn together. Ugh. So maybe in the winter it will be acceptable in place of a comforter, maybe not. Maybe it will wind up on the guest bed. Normal people (guests, in other words) are probably not so picky about their blankets.

Oh, and my granddaughter loves it, too. So I'm on the lookout for another one, so we can both have one when she is here. She has a million soft blankets of her own at home. But here, she needs the perfect blanket.

And so do I.

What is YOUR perfect blanket like? Or is it even a blanket? Maybe it's a quilt, or a throw, or an afghan.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter