The Farm

Oct. 03, 2007 ~ All the news that fits

I'd put it off as long as I possibly could. Longer. Today I got new eyeglasses, AND I didn't throw up. I'd ordered them only because my previous, much beloved glasses were on their way out. The lens coating was all scratched and ruined and apparently beyond repair. They were rather old, anyway, and I couldn't actually see well out of them. But I am SO funny about getting new glasses. I'd rather eat dirt. Or maybe worms. Possibly even June bugs. I really, really hate getting new glasses, mostly because my prescription is so strong and my brain so weird that any change seems to disrupt the signals between the two. Then I have trouble walking for a couple of weeks, my head hurts, and I feel very much like throwing up. Combine that with fibromyalgia and TMJ, and the fact that I can't stand to have any pressure against the side of my head or face, and it's a truly delightful experience. No matter how loosely the glasses fit, I want them looser, again and again. When they are as loose as humanly possible and I walk out the door, within an hour I realize that they are not quite loose enough, and I'm going to have to go back for more torture. Even a simple adjustment is excruciating. It becomes a toss-up. Is it worse to leave them alone, or go back to try to have them fixed? Because trust me, it can always get worse. Oy.
_______________________________________

Did I tell you about the secret cat at work? Secret kitten. Well, it's not so secret anymore. I'd been carrying a baggie of dry cat food in my purse, and slipping outside to feed him/her, never wanting anyone to see her. (I don't know which it is, so I'm choosing "her" unless it becomes obvious that it's a "him.") While I was talking to the pastor today I mentioned that we did have a kitten hanging around, but that I would take it home as soon as I could catch it. To my surprise, he said that it was fine if I wanted to do that, but it was also okay to leave it here. We could have a church cat. This from the man who is somewhat allergic to and really doesn't like cats.

I thought about that for a minute, and then I asked if it could come inside.

"Not in my office!" he laughed.

"What about MY office? Can it come in my office?"

"Yes."

"YES?"

"Yes. It makes no difference to me. Just clean up after it or train it or whatever."

"You mean you're not worried about liability or biting or scratching or allergies?"

"No."

And so I bounced out of his office, all giddy and excited because I WAS GETTING AN OFFICE CAT! I love office cats! I floated the few feet to my co-worker's office and told him the good news, and his reception was less than enthusiastic. Turns out he is allergic. Which explains why he doesn't have any housecats. So there went my office cat.

But I had one for about two minutes. Or as long as it took me to walk from pastor's office to co-worker's. Hey, it was nice while it lasted!
_______________________________________

The vet came out yesterday and pronounced Bucky 99 percent cured. I'm afraid to believe it just yet, but we are cautiously optimistic. Time will tell. But for now, no more expensive shots of antibiotics, just some oral decongestant medicine mixed with cornmeal and feed. We found a way to get him to eat it - mixing the cornmeal with a tiny bit of water so it clumps up and is more like grain than coarse powder.
_______________________________________

There is a church I'm interested in visiting. Their pastor has been a guest preacher at our church, plus I've been in a number of meetings with him, and he seems a decent, caring man. Someone from that church came to the office today on church business, and it turns out that I now have an excuse to go to their church and check it out. Not that I needed one, but still. It makes it easier, somehow. So this Saturday I may stop by.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter