The Farm

Sept. 22, 2007 ~ Birthday fun

It's been quite a day! Son called from Afghanistan early this morning, getting the day off to a great start. Other friends, and College Boy, called with good wishes throughout the day, and Husband and I had a wonderful lunch at Olive Garden. The food was delicious and the service was flawless, as in, you take your last swallow of water and the waiter is right there with the pitcher, ready to refill your glass. And so pleasant. I made a clean getaway, no singing! Someone else was either lucky or unlucky, depending on how you look at it, as "Happy Birthday" rang out.

Not long after we were home, a friend called to offer us tickets to a local dinner theater production tonight. We went and had a great time! Except several friends were also there, and they sang Happy Birthday. Argghhh... Then during the course of the play, one of the actors mentioned my name and that it was my birthday. And on and on. I don't normally blush but I know I was bright red at least twice, maybe three times. And here is something I learned. When there is a contest involving tricky questions and someone asks you the answers, don't tell them! Unless you want them to win the prize! But the winner was gracious and admitted that I told him the answer and gave me the "prize" anyway, a funny gag gift.

Tonight's location was a bit fancier than what we were used to, and Husband said something about us mixing in with "the Elite." He was a bit nervous about going. I told him that WE were elite, too. He seemed skeptical. Okay, so we're not exactly elite, but maybe I'm old enough to just go anyway. You know, wearing purple and all that. Doing what we want to do.

This afternoon we stopped by at work so I could feed the secret kitten. It's a secret because I suspect the boss wouldn't welcome having a cat around. But it's already there, and hungry and thirsty, so what are you going to do? It's not entirely secret. At least two other people know it's there. I'd take it home but am afraid it would get beaten up by our big tom cats, or it would get eaten by coyotes. If the boss found out about it and wanted the animal control officer to pick it up, then I'd take it home, because at least it would have some chance there. But unless that happens, it's staying at work.

A friend sent the loveliest e-card (Thank you again, Susan!), and I enjoyed it very much.

Bucky is still a sick boy, and the vet may need to come by tomorrow instead of Monday (as planned).

But all in all it was a fun day!

Thanks for all your good wishes.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter