The Farm

Jan. 17, 2007 ~ Home again

Winter is not my season. It wasn't so bad, staying home on Monday. Tuesday was dry, if cold, so back to work we went. This morning brought sleet and freezing rain, along with regular rain, and good girl that I am, I listened to the nice man on TV who said, "Stay home if you don't have to get out." Actually, this morning I told my boss (who was safely at home himself) that I would wait awhile to decide about coming in, and about the time that I decided it was safe, they closed our local schools. So I called him back to say that I would be staying home.

Boss is not frightened of ice nor of driving in it. In fact he said that he enjoys getting out and driving around in it, just looking at everything. He said that the roads looked just fine at his house. I said they were probably fine at my house, too, but I didn't want to risk it. The problem is our hills, which make it almost impossible to drive when there is the least bit of ice. And really, I am just afraid. Boss said that roads do not suddenly freeze over when it starts sleeting. But that has not been my experience. I've been less than 10 minutes away from home when a nasty ice storm hit and I barely made it in. A dozen or more cars wound up in the ditch, in that short distance. I have not forgotten that fear.

One son totaled his truck driving on roads with very little ice. One patch was all it took. I've been rear-ended when there was hardly any ice on the ground. So, paranoid me, here I sit at home, bored out of my skull. I would love to be at work! Really! I would love to be at the library, or the bank, or even the feed store... anywhere but here.

How do people deal with ice and snow long-term, when it's an everyday thing? Do you ever get used to driving in it? When you have to stay home, and you don't want to stay home, what do you do?

The good news is that tomorrow they predict it will be in the high 30's or *gasp* even in the 40's. I am excited! Looking forward to getting up early and going to work! Sheesh. But it's true. I'm a creature of habit and don't like these disruptions in routine.

Here's to sunny days!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter