The Farm

Nov. 04, 2006 ~ Buffalo Gal

"They sure would look pretty on that mountain behind your house." Big grin. This from the owner of our local feed store.

"Come on... you know you want 'em."
This from Husband.

And I do want them, absolutely I do. Mr. and Mrs. Buffalo, and especially baby buffalo. They are priced fairly, too. But we did not set out today to buy buffalo, we set out to buy feed for the cows. The buffalo were just there, in the lot next door, looking adorable, in a really ugly sort of way. They do have a unique look about them. And I've always wanted some, but they are wilder than cattle, and I don't want to have to worry about the buffalo family tearing our barbed wire fence down, and letting the whole herd out.

They sure were cute, though!

We do not sell our cattle, not in the technical sense of the word. Longtime readers will recall that our calves go to summer camp, and in the winter they go to the cattle resort. They just have such a great time that they forget to call or write, and they never seem to find their way back home. Go figure. So we don't actully GO to the auction, not officially, but a few times I have accidentally wound up there, to drop off the calves for CAMP. But I am not allowed to go anymore. And it's not fair. It has something to do with the fact that I always want to BUY animals when we are there, and apparently, that isn't the purpose for going.

So it strikes me as funny that I was the reasonable one today, the one who said no to an impulse purchase of three really cute critters.

I may have to go visit them next week, though. Just, uh, to be sure they're okay.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter