The Farm

Oct. 07, 2006 ~ No news

Precious Little Sister is just about the same. No better, no worse.

_______________________________________

On a different note, the son formerly known as Soldier Boy is now at some kind of training in North Carolina. He isn't really Soldier Boy anymore, as he is a civilian. But Civilian Boy just doesn't have the right ring to it! For now I guess I'll refer to him as Son. My younger son remains "College Boy." Son is reviewing his Army skills, with the intent of going back to Iraq. As a civilian, working as a soldier, alongside soldiers, but not a soldier. Go figure. I am trying not to go crazy this time. I think I'm pretty calm but my stomach hurts. Maybe it's a virus.

_______________________________________

I hate Wal-Mart. Seriously. Maybe not all the time, but mostly, yes, I do actually hate Wal-Mart. And I wouldn't shop there, BUT, in many ways it is the only store in town. I do shop elsewhere, patronizing the local merchants whenever possible. It's just that some things are only available at Wal-Mart. It's either shop there or drive 25 to 40 miles to a city with other stores.

When ready to check out at Wally World, I get that the customer must put their items on the conveyer belt. No problem. I also get that the customer must take their purchases to their car, and place them in the car, then find the "corral" to stow the cart. No problem. There's something I don't understand, though. Is it, or is it not... a rule, that the customer must put the filled bags in the cart? The cashier puts your items in the bags, and sometimes politely puts those bags in your cart. Other times, they do not. They leave the bags there on the carousel, sometimes even placing them on the floor, to keep from putting them in the cart. Seriously, is this what they are supposed to be doing? Yesterday, the cashier even went so far as to pick up a couple of heavy bags and hand them to me, so that I would put them in the cart.

The problem is my hands. Hands, wrists, arms, shoulders, elbows... the works, really. The entire upper appendages are usually out of commission. For this reason, I try not to shop at Wal-Mart unless Husband is able to come along. He deals with the baqs of groceries. It's just that occasionally he is not able to make it. He may be out of town, or working, or busy here at home, or whatever. And again, some things can only be purchased at W-M. We can do without for a certain length of time, but eventually, I must be brave and go it alone.

I hate to appear helpless. I don't LOOK helpless, and I hate to ask for special treatment. I hate to ask the cashier to please keep the bags light, or to please place them in the cart for me, if this is something that they are truly not supposed to do.

Yesterday, I was caught off guard and therefore accepted the heavy bags when they were held out in my direction. It was reflex. But today I'm paying the price. It is ridiculously painful.

And all because of Wal-Mart.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter