The Farm

Aug. 02, 2006 ~ Armadillos

Armadillos are supposed to be cute, and many Texans are quite fond of them. They are the official small mammal of Texas. Whoo. But an armadillo has been tearing up our yard for some time now, despite our best efforts to catch it. We don't think they're especially cute. If you are unfamiliar with the damage they do, you'd be surprised. They root around for grubs and other small critters, and in doing so, they leave numerous holes, small to medium-sized. They also kill the grass in those areas. This particular varmint dug a number of largish tunnels under our carport. For a while I was seriously wondering if the concrete might collapse. Husband always tried to keep those tunnels filled in as best he could.

Last night the armadillo met his match. Husband. And a shotgun. I just hope that it was a Mr. Armadillo, and there were no Missus or little Kidlet armadillos. I hope it was the only one, that there aren't more of them lurking under the carport.

***************************************

On a cheerier note, Soldier Boy and family are coming to visit next month. We are happy campers! Husband and I both will have several days off work, and will be able to spend time with our precious grandbaby. I've told her favorite horse that the little one will be riding him soon. He seemed pretty happy about that.

Did I mention that Soldier Boy plans to go back to Iraq? He is not actually IN the Army anymore, though he still works for the Army as a civilian. He has plans to go sometime after October, and he may be gone a year. So this may be the last time we see him before he goes.

Yes, it bothers me. Of course it does. I'd rather he wouldn't go. But he's a grownup and gets to make his own decisions. I try not to think about it, and I'm doing a pretty job of it. Can't change it. Can't do one thing to change his mind. So I'm just not thinking about it for now, and plan to enjoy our time with him, our daughter-in-law, and the little one.

When he's gone, I will probably be a nervous wreck. But he's not gone yet, and who knows, maybe they won't take him.

I'll think about it tomorrow.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter