The Farm

Jun. 29, 2006 ~ Dreams and such

The other day I worked a little late, and with only a few minutes till closing time, decided to pop into a local gift shop. Needed to purchase a wedding gift and the bride was registered there. The young lady who helped me quickly showed me what was available in my price range and it was a simple decision. She offered to gift wrap it, and I said that would be lovely, but it was time for them to close and I would just pick it up the next day. She asked if she could bring it to me at work.

"Oh, no, I'll just pick it up. Thanks, though."

"You sure? I have to take my son to Vacation Bible School anyway, so I'll be right there."

"Well, in that case, yes, thank you."

That's what I like about living in a small town. The personal touch. And everybody knowing everything about everybody else, such as where they work. Seriously, I like that. Coming from a big city, it's a nice change.

-------------------------------------

College Boy had a terrible, frightening dream, he said. He dreamed that I died. And then when he woke up it seemed real.

"I'm still here," I said. "Doing fine. Sorry about the dream."

Me, I have dreams that deceased loved ones are still alive. It always confuses me, during the dreams.

-------------------------------------

Meadow is turning into a very good dog. You may remember Meadow as our granddog. We inherited her when Soldier Boy left for Iraq. She wound up staying permanently (you all saw that coming, right?). She has a fancy pen now, with a concrete floor and a nice doghouse and a tarp roof, for shade. She comes out to run around in the mornings, at lunchtime, and then she spends most evenings in the back yard, being a good dog. In the beginning, she was a wanderer, always running off and getting into trouble. She sticks much closer to home now. It's all part of that "good dog" thing. Or maybe she's just maturing.

Mango cat thinks he's a dog. He follows us everywhere, but no matter how much Mango begs, Husband says kitty can't come in the house. Hmmmph.

-------------------------------------

An online friend has been given one or two weeks to live. She has lung cancer and is in terrible pain. She will leave behind small children, and she is most worried about them, not herself. So sad.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter