The Farm

Jan. 22, 2005 ~ Slip-sliding away

It was all over in the blink of an eye. One minute I was getting ready to put my boots on, and the next thing I knew I was falling. I was wearing just socks on my feet, something I seldom do, and I had shaken out a little rug and hadn't put it back yet, so when I stepped through the kitchen door, expecting to step on carpet, I stepped on slippery vinyl instead, and my feet flew out from under me. One foot hit the brick wall in the narrow hallway, and I somehow landed on the hand previously injured in a fall. That first fall had dislocated my thumb, but luckily that didn't happen this time. The thumb is red and sore, though. I landed sort of on my rear and sort of on my left hip. Nothing seems to be broken, but my dignity sure suffered! One shoulder hurts, one hand, both hips, one knee, one foot... all because I was in too big of a hurry, and forgot to put that rug back down.

A friend's father slipped and fell on ice last week, breaking several places in his neck and back. He is still awaiting surgery and is at this point lucky to be alive (one fracture is high in his neck -- think of Christopher Reeve). So I consider myself lucky. But I do have a few bad owies. I had already taken an anti-inflammatory this morning because of stiffness and soreness, and I will take another one tonight. Maybe that will help. I'll also take a hot shower. sigh. It's always something!


I started my new job on Tuesday. It was a very busy and hectic week! The pastor and financial director are wonderful to work with. Someone brought me flowers, someone else brought me cake, and the pastor took the entire staff out to lunch. I got my first bulletin completed yesterday afternoon. Church bulletins are one of those things I never really thought much about, until I had to create one myself. A lot of time and effort goes into that simple little document, and everything must be just right. Typos are unacceptable. One side of the page had already been proofed and approved for printing, and I printed it. Then another person read it and caught a mistake, and it had to be reprinted. It wasn't a tiny error; someone's name had accidentally been left out, and that just wouldn't do. Live and learn! I hope it will get easier each time.

A few unexpected, unpleasant things took place, and I will take steps to prevent those things from happening in the future. Part of my job involves dealing with needy individuals, and if they meet the established criteria in terms of residence, income, etc., I am to write them small checks, up to a maximum of $40. Most people are very appreciative, and if they are disappointed that we cannot do more, they do not show it. Others are very demanding and get downright irate. I was alone in the building when several irate ones were there, and this was not good. One staff member later apologized for leaving me there with them, when he knew they were upset and angry. We have worked out a plan to prevent that from happening again.

The usual office politics do take place even in a church environment. Some people do not like how others do their jobs. Some (very few) people tried to take advantage of my newness and enlist me in their fight against the ones they dislike. I just want to remain neutral! Think of me as Switzerland!

All in all, it was a good first week, and I'm glad to be there.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter