The Farm

Sept. 12, 2004 ~ Remembering

This morning at church we had a special service to honor those who serve; our police, firefighters, and military. At the end of the service, candles were lit and each person lighted the candle of the person next to them, sharing their light, passing it on. The lights were turned out and the sanctuary was lit only by the candles. Bagpipe music played... the effect was very emotional. The whole service was meant as a tribute, that we may remember 9-11, those whose lives were lost, those who lost loved ones, and those who worked so hard to save or to serve others, that day and every day since. A large banner on the wall proclaimed, "We Support Our Troops."

We all have our memories of that September day. Most people could tell you exactly where they were and what they were doing when they heard the news. I was at our church's gym, walking with Susan, when someone came and told us that something terrible was happening, that an airplane had hit the World Trade Center, that we needed to come and see it for ourselves on TV. We literally did not believe it. We continued walking, our steps slow and halting, not sure if we should really go watch the TV or not. It just did not sink in. Finally we decided to join the others in the lobby, as they stared in horror at the scene unfolding before them. The full impact of what was happening soon hit me, and I could not help but cry. My first words... when I could speak... I said my son's name. My baby. My soldier boy. I knew right then, that there would be consequences, that there would probably be war, and that my son would have to fight. My worst fear. He was unable to call us right away, and even though we knew that he was fine, we just wanted to hear his voice. It's a Mom thing. A Dad thing. A Brother thing, too. We were all affected by what happened, each in our own way, but for him, it was personal. I asked how he and his fellow soldiers were handling it, and I will never forget what he said.

"Mom, I can't believe they hit the Pentagon."

This hurt him personally. And of course the wars that followed were personal for him, too. He has served both in Afghanistan and Iraq, surviving a helicopter crash, enduring hardships, but proud to serve.

College Boy was on his way to school that morning when he heard the news on the radio. He said he almost had a wreck. He could tell that most everyone else was listening to the news, too, because the traffic slowed and almost came to a standstill. He came home soon afterwards... as there was little point in attending classes, even if they had been held. Who could concentrate? How do you worry about English or World Lit or Texas History when your world is changing right in front of your eyes? We sat together and watched TV that day, numb, mindless, in total disbelief.

I know several people whose birthday is September 11, and they all speak of how their birthday is no longer the same. Instead of people smiling when they tell them the date of their birthday, people usually just say, "Oh." At the very least, they look startled. One woman said that she felt guilty, celebrating. But of course she has nothing to feel guilty about. Well.

We all remember, each in our own way. For some it's a quiet prayer, for some it's anger at all the innocent lives lost. The rituals may change, as time passes, but I think that for however many years I have left on this planet, I will never forget.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter