The Farm

Apr. 20, 2004 ~ Sad days

It has been quite a week. My sister-in-law (SIL) has been ill with lung cancer for some time. It is difficult for her to talk, as she quickly gets out of breath. For this reason I am reluctant to call her on the phone, not wanting to tire her or cause her to start coughing. But I could not resist calling last Thursday to tell her that Soldier Boy was home. She was so excited and happy to hear the news!

Saturday, she was able to speak briefly with Soldier Boy, and she shared her joy that he was finally home, safe and sound. Sunday, she took a turn for the worse.

She died yesterday.

Her husband and daughter were with her at the end, and she was able to speak to her other daughter on the phone, to say her good-byes. I didn't know it then, but I guess we said our good-byes last week. SIL saw College Boy not long ago, when they had a nice family dinner together. So everyone feels that they had a chance to speak to her, to see her. But it is probably just my nature to feel I have not done enough, that I should have sent more cards, made more calls, done or said something more.

Husband is on the phone now, letting people know. Those calls are never easy to make.

The next few days will be busy ones, and sad.


There was a front page photo in today's paper of a number of soldiers, gathered together. And though I knew my soldier was home, perfectly safe, my heart hurt at the sight of those faces. They still seem like my babies, every one of them. I just wish they could all come home.

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter