The Farm

Jan. 28, 2004 ~ Puppy love

When Soldier Boy asked if we could keep his dog, after careful consideration we agreed. After all, she's incredibly cute, and one hundred percent adorable. But what hadn't really occurred to me is that she isn't a dog just yet, she's a puppy. A baby dog. I am pretty much of a cat person. I've had dogs before, but they always arrived here full-grown. It's like the difference between adopting an infant and a teenager. She's an infant dog. Not little bitty, but a youngster just the same, with toddler ways. Like chewing, which is not limited to her chew-toys! But did I mention that she is cute? She's soft and cuddly and has that doggy thing going, that "I love you madly, you're the most important person in the world to me" attitude, which she lavishes on every human being who crosses her path. We joke that she would probably befriend any burglars, and would offer to show them where the good stuff was hidden, and help them drag it out to their car. That's our girl. She has boundless energy, and almost never tires. She would run and play all day, if she ran the world. Mud does not deter her, nor cold, nor large animals. She's getting over her fear of the cows and horses. Is that good or bad? I'm not quite sure.

Speaking of Meadow, I think I'll take her with me to collect the mail. She's a pretty good little exercise incentive, too!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter