The Farm

Jan. 25, 2004 ~ Happy Days

This was such a good weekend! Saturday brought an inch of rain, and we truly needed it. College Boy was home for a visit, maybe his last for awhile, as he'll have to start working soon. And last night, Soldier Boy called from Iraq! We certainly were not expecting it, as he'd been told they would have no phone service at all. But I had told him that should he get the opportunity, no matter what time of day or night, we would love to hear from him. So at 3:30 AM, the phone ring, and as luck would have it, I was awake. Husband thought I must be dreaming, when I said Soldier Boy's name. We only got to talk a very few minutes, but it was enough to ease my mind and put a smile on my face. You know, letters are wonderful, but there is something so special about hearing a loved one's voice, particularly when that loved one is in harm's way. When we receive a letter, we know our son was fine when he wrote it, maybe two or three weeks earlier. But hearing his voice on the phone... and College Boy asleep here, too, safe and sound... well, you can imagine.

And if that was not enough, today is sunny and beautiful! 74 degrees.

College Boy is on his way back to school now, with a pan full of fudge to tide him over till his next visit. Meadow is out in the yard, "helping" Husband with his chores. It's so pretty out there that I hate to be inside, so even though I have work to do here, you'll excuse me if I slip outside for just a little while.

Life is good. Life is very, very good!

Text � copyright 2001 - 2013 Dakotah ~ The Farm
All rights reserved

_______________________________

Previous Entry ~ Next Entry

Site Meter